The Fab Five

The Fab Five are five underlying skills that all learners need to possess in order to become great readers. Learn why it is important that teachers know how to plan, teach and assess these five skills:

  • Phonemic awareness
  • Synthetic Phonics
  • Fluency
  • Comprehension
  • Vocabulary

Teachers will learn:

  • Theory of reading, including current research
  • How to easily surpass the National Curriculum standards for literacy
  • About the FAB FIVE skills and why they should underpin all reading programs
  • How to plan, teach and assess all five reading skills within a balanced reading program

Impact on children:

  • All children will be given the skills to become lifelong readers
  • Reading standards across the school will increase
  • Increased enjoyment of reading

As a result parents will:

  • See their children reading for pleasure
  • Be confident in the school’s reading program
  • Know how to help their child at home

To enquire about training call Jessica on (02) 8003 3885.